Skip to content

January 21, 2014

5

The Skinny on Skinny Pop

by Anne Paddock

Skinny Pop is without a doubt the best tasting popcorn on the market. With four (4) varieties to choose from:  Original, Black Pepper, Ultra Light White Cheddar, and Sweet, Skinny Pop has a flavor to appeal to nearly everyone.  The company starts with premium popcorn kernels, sunflower oil, and a small amount of salt to make the perfectly popped corn kernels and either leaves it as is (Original), adds just enough black pepper to give the pop corn a kick (Black Pepper), a small amount of evaporated cane juice to sweeten the popped kernels just a bit (Sweet), or adds natural flavors, rice flour, and lactic acid to please those who want a hint of cheddar flavor without the dairy (Ultra Light White Cheddar).1238361_10151902059495339_1203161846_n

Most people would think Skinny Pop is either loaded with artificial flavors, sweeteners, or salt but that is not the case. Skinny Pop has numerous attributes including:

  • No artificial flavors
  • No artificial colors
  • No preservatives
  • Gluten-free
  • Peanut-free
  • Tree nut-free
  • Non GMO verified
  • Dairy-free (even the Cheddar flavor)
  • Made in a facility that is completely nut, egg, and dairy-free.

Moreover, each cup has about 40 calories, about 2.5 grams of fat, is low in sodium (12-25 mg), and has zero or virtually no sugar. As the company says “guilt-free snacking never tasted this delicious.” Truth be told, I sneak this popcorn – usually the Black Pepper flavor – into movie theaters because it’s the perfect popcorn to snack on while watching a movie and because Skinny Pop tastes so much better than movie theater popcorn.

Skinny Pop is sold nationwide at grocery and health food stores (including Whole Foods) for about $3 for a 4.4 ounce bag. To find a store near you, use the locator service on the Skinny Pop website:  www.skinnypop.com. The orginal flavor also comes in 100 calorie bags (0.7 ounces) in 6-packs or 36-packs. To purchase on-line, go to www.amazon.com.418494_10150720623745339_1447082853_n

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Heather
    May 16 2014

    What are the “natural flavors” in the white cheddar flavor?

  2. May 16 2014

    Hi Heather:

    The Code of Federal Regulations defines a natural flavor as “the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional” whereas an artificial flavor is defined as those that do not meet these particular standards.

    In a few words or less, it means that natural flavors are found in nature (plant or animal), while artificial flavors are not (they are chemicals created).

    If you google “natural flavors” there are lots of sites you can go to and read up on natural flavors. One of the things you will learn is that there are literally thousands of compounds that can make up a flavor but to list all those compounds is not possibly so the defining difference between natural and artificial is where it comes from.

    As for Skinny Pop Cheddar Popcorn, consider e-mailing the company (the link to the company is in the post) and they may be able to give you a more thorough answer.

  3. trisha
    Feb 6 2015

    the natural flavours are lactic acid and rice flour to simulate white cheddar

  4. Feb 6 2015

    Hi Trisha…the label actually says “natural flavors, rice flour, lactic acid, and salt.” The definition of natural flavor under the Code of Federal Regulations is: “the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable…….” The lactic acid and rice flour may contribute to the flavor but the company also adds “natural flavor.”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tips for Eating Vegan @ the Movies – THE DREAMY IDEALIST

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

%d bloggers like this: